Lessons from the dojo – Belief and Humility

This blog is the second installment in a series focused on each chapter of my recently released book The Corporate Dojo – Driving extraordinary results through spirited people.  Last time I shared insight into the final chapter – to continue as I began, rather than working through the chapters in order, this time I will jump from the end to the middle.  In chapter seven I explore the topic of Belief and Humility and share why both matter as much as they do. I share what both karate and the business world have taught me about how critical self-belief balanced with awareness of how we need to improve is to success in any area of life.

There is no better place to learn the importance of having both belief and humility than in a karate dojo. Learning to survive when our life is on the line takes belief in our abilities while maintaining intimate awareness of our limitations.   The karate sensei (teacher) understands it is dangerous to allow someone to believe they are capable of things that they are not or they may get hurt.  Equally they know how critical it is for the student to build and maintain unwavering confidence that will fuel their courage to fight to survive.

It is unquestionably also true in business that people are most likely to reach the peaks of their potential by having both belief and humility.  In chapter seven I explore the most important things any leader must do to positively influence the belief and humility of the people they lead.  Included on the must do checklist are:

  • Challenge inaccurate self-perceptions and beliefs that are either inflated or limiting
  • Call poor behaviour and identify things that need to improve in order for people to keep learning and growing
  • Help people to be aware of and understand the dialogue in their minds and their ability to choose which voice they give power to; the one that tells them they can’t or the one that says they can
  • Provide evidence of the strengths and achievements that underpin the faith you have in people
  • Back people when they make mistakes
  • Make it OK to love yourself

Both my business and personal life experiences have consistently reinforced the importance of both believing in myself and maintaining awareness of my limitations. Most recently my experiences writing The Corporate Dojo are a prime example. To write the book I’ve needed firm belief in the value of what I have to say and ability to put it in words that people can both enjoy and appreciate.  Just as importantly I have needed to maintain awareness of my relative inexperience as a writer and soak up the wisdom of more experienced people I engaged along the way.  Trusting the expert guidance and advice of my editor, designer and typesetter all mattered to enable me to produce a book I am proud of.

To buy your copy of The Corporate Dojo: Driving extraordinary results through spirited people, click here.

Leave a Reply

