The Power of Laughter

Robi Mack as Dr Haveachat

Robi Mack as Dr Have-A-Chat
See Dr Have-A-Chat’s profile at http://www.humourfoundation.com.au/our-work/meet-your-local-clown-doctors.html?id=92

Last week I had the immense pleasure of seeing clown doctor and event speaker Robi Mack create her magic.  For those of you not already aware of the incredible work of the Clown Doctors, here’s how the Humour Foundation website so beautifully describes them:  They treat children in hospital with medicine of a different kind…doses of fun and laughter!’.

I’m sure I wasn’t the only audience member of the Little Black Dress Group’s digital conference who was blown away by the love, compassion and laughter Robi shared.  Through simultaneously gut wrenching and heart-warming stories Robi lead the audience on an rollercoaster ride of emotion.  Robi inspired me to reflect on the power of laughter and its impact on the spirit of people at work. Placing a spotlight on the healing power of laughter I was reminded the extent to which having fun can re-energise our spirit during challenging times.

Clown doctorsI’ve been fortunate in my career to work with people I’ve been able to smile and laugh with.  Spending time telling funny stories, engaging in good-natured banter and sharing a joke has always been an important part of how I have led and been part of teams.  There is no doubt the enjoyment I’ve experienced at work has had a substantial impact on the strong sense of camaraderie I have been fortunate to feel toward many of my colleagues over the years.

Watching Robi speak I was reminded of an article I recently read on news.com.au about a guy who made a plea for a ‘pick me up’ on Reddit.  Posting under the username AaronM97 he wrote “Feeling REALLY down and I’m sick of it. So if there’s anything you can tell me that will make me think higher of the world, please do”.  This simple request has lead to hundreds of people sharing uplifting stories and reasons to laugh.     In turn the author has responded with “I can’t express how thankful I am to everyone that commented. I’ve laughed, I’ve smiled, I’ve felt better than I have in a damn long time. So thank you to each and every one who took the time to put a smile on my face :)”

Winnie the PoohHere is a sample of those that made me smile the biggest, laugh the heartiest and naaaaawww the loudest – enjoy!

  • Sometimes sloths mistake their own arms for branches and fall out of the tree. So don’t feel bad.
  • Penguins only have one mate their entire life and “propose” by giving their mate a pebble.
  • Otters have a pocket in their skin for their favorite rock.
  • Rats and mice are ticklish and they laugh
  • Turtles can breathe out their butts
  • The man who does Winnie the Pooh’s voice spends some of his spare time ringing up children in the cancer wards of hospitals, putting on Winnie’s voice and telling them how much he loves them and how brave they are.
  • SlothA group of bunnies is called a fluffle
  • My 5 year-old son says that when boys die, they become ghosts. When girls die, they become ballerinas.

Life offers plenty of reasons to smile and laugh – all we need to do is be present and light hearted enough to enjoy them. Visit Reddit to read all comments – be prepared to spend some time, there are a lot of them. 

Leave a Reply

