Guest blogger: Michele Revill – Choosing to Thrive

PuzzleTo thrive in life, whether we like it or not, is simply a matter of deciding to change and to embark on  the very difficult road of personal growth.  It is easier said than done.   Life is like a huge jigsaw puzzle, and it is amazing how we can learn to put all the pieces  together to complete the picture.

Unlike a jigsaw puzzle however, there is no incorrect way of doing this. Addressing the puzzle as a whole enables us to clearly see where our lives might be improved.

Take a chanceHaving worked as a nurse in aged care put these things  into perspective for me. Speaking with many of my patients over a long period of time, I discovered that a large proportion of them regretted not taking the chance to move out of their comfort zone. Life is too short, and there are no second chances. I have found in my own life many parallels to my elderly patients.

Whilst I enjoyed my years of nursing, I had always harboured a passion for writing. I truly wish that I had the courage in those days to study professional writing or journalism. I was afraid! Afraid that I might not make the grade, and therefore did not take up the challenge. This lack of decision haunted me for a long time. Many years later I decided to take the plunge regardless of the result, and I enrolled in a  writing course which would eventually lead to a diploma in Professional Writing and Editing. The most liberating part of this decision was that I made the choice to face my fear. I was still afraid, but I made a decision to change, and, through that, I grew as a person. It took many years, thirteen in fact, to achieve my goal, but the pride I felt when I walked across the stage. at my graduation, to accept my diploma is beyond belief.

Ask yourself the question. “Is there an area of my life that I am unhappy with. Where can I improve?” Perhaps, as in my situation, a change in direction or a new challenge will commence a new phase of personal growth. It need not be a career change or a major upheaval in your life. It could be as simple as the choice learn a new skill, to stop smoking or to lose weight.

Give upI have had health issues for many years, (hence the thirteen year diploma) but I have persevered, not only with writing, but with mental attitude, weight loss and health in general. It does at times take hard work, but when I look back at the person I used to be, and then at who I am now, it has all been worth while. I have indeed thrived and will continue to do so as long as I apply myself to ever changing situations. I have beaten the odds. You can too. Just take that first step.

5 thoughts on “Guest blogger: Michele Revill – Choosing to Thrive

Leave a Reply

